Today’s quote comes straight from the mouth of one of my friends, who recently wrote a dissertation on womanism. We were talking about Joyce (as one does), and I asked her what she thought of the ol’ “self-absorbed young man, usually an artist, unable to make connections with fellow human beings, particularly women, who are either ice-queens, harpies or mothers” trope that literature of a certain kind is rife with. She said “I liked Ulysses in the same way I like rap music. The sentiment annoys the hell out of me, but it’s still great to dance to”.

So, without further ado, here she is partying away with James Augustin Aloysius Joyce and Andre Romell Young, Phd.

pen&ink, watercolours

(Quentin Blake, if anyone has been living in a cave since the 1970s, is the man who illustrated most of Roald Dahl’s books. He has an incredible talent for capturing movement and character with a few jaggy ink strokes. He is also incredibly fun to imitate, even if the results aren’t nearly as good)